GO Windlass Customer Testimonials

 Canal Boat Windlass GOWindlass Sunshine Banner

 

2019-07-04 - Alan Hales

Having met a fellow boater using one of your Windlass, I was really impressed and have purchased one. The service I received was excellent, questions answered and delivered within two days of purchase. Will certainly recommend to other boaters. Thank you

2019-06-21 - Wendy Albutt - Canal River Trust Volunteer

The windlass took a very short time to get used to and it works brilliantly. I was suffering from a problem shoulder which was making my time as a volunteer lock keeper on the Tardebigge flight increasingly difficult to do. With my new windlass I'm able to operate even the most difficult paddles. I'm happily demonstrating the windlass to many interested boaters. A big thank you to one of the boaters on the flight who allowed me to test drive her GoWinlass and gave glowing reports. Also thank you to Peter for sending it out to me so promply.

2019-06-06 - Cafwin Cruises - Boutique Narrowboat Holidays

Go Windlass is now the windlass of choice at the top end boutique narrowboat holiday hire company Cafwin Cruises.
See them at www.cafwincruises.com 

2019-05-29 - Veronica Hopker

Spoke to your team at Crick to let you know I am thrilled to bits with the new GoWindlass. Two weeks ago tested it on the Braunston and Buckby Locks. Who said an 8stone weakling can't open the paddles? No more struggling. Thank you for a great "assistant".

2019-05-29 - Suzie Yates

I just want to say that our trip around the Avon ring was made all the easier for me using your amazing product. It took me a little while to get used to it but starting our holiday on the Tardebigge flight by the end I was a pro! The design is fabulous and I found the ratchet mechanism so much easier that the ordinary windlass. Not having to use the normal revolving technique saved my bad shoulder and when i returned to see my osteopath she was amazed at how much better it was! I cannot thank you enough for your help when I ordered and your personal care. I would like to wish you all the best with your design. I showed it off to as many people as I could on our journey. I only met one person with the same one over the whole two weeks so some work needs to be done to promote it. for the older creakier generation it is a must! With all good wishes.

2019-05-29 - Fiona McNair

My husband bought me my go-windlass last year not long before we set out to do the Warwickshire ring. Having got a neck problem I wanted
something to make the locks a bit easier. It proved to be the best thing since slice bread on the day I had to do 24 locks due to a diversion! It doesn't take long to get used to and once you are in the swing of it it is a godsend. Would thoroughly recommend it to
anyone!

2018-09-02 - Lesley Taylor

Hi to all there..what a product. My husband...bought me one of these just over a couple of weeks ago...and how fantastic was it? ...the speed with which it arrived was very efficient..being 64 years old I was worried about the strain on muscles and bones..The ease with which I could open the locks was impressive. It did not take me long to work out how to use it. I am very impressed with it.

22/8/2018 - Louise Travaglini

Hi to all, I would like to give some feedback on your windlass.'Excellent..It didn't take long to get used to using it. It is light and easy to use. We were cruising for a couple of weeks and obviously this involved many locks. My new Go Windlass made locks easier. It was seemed to generate interest and some envy from other boat users!'

20/7/2018 Yvonne (Crick Purchase)

I love my easy winding ratchet windlass, its easy to use..

2/6/2018 Carol Hamilton-King, Facebook

Quite simply the best windlass ever!!!

26/5/2018 Jo, Mercia Marina

..we've been out cruising for three weeks and I've used the GoWindlass throughout that time. I love it. It excited a lot of interest from everyone and I was happy to show it off, pass it over for people to have a look at. Volunteer Lock Keepers liked it. And it absolutely came into its own with me because I managed to slip off the stern of the boat and crash down onto the bank, resulting in severely squashed muscles and soft tissue all down the left side of my rib cage. The ratchet on the GoWindlass came into its own big time because whilst I could still 'push' with care, 'pulling' was impossible. I'm very very happy with it and intend to use it all the time for ever. I like the midway length between short and long throw windlass,the bit of extra weight it has, the engineering of it and the inclusion of the 'lowering' hole which makes a lot of sense.

 

11/05/2018  K Stevenson

 "My wife used her new Go Windlass at Easter and found it

to be very helpful for opening those stiff paddles especially at Hillmorton and Whilton."

21/03/2018 Towpath Talk, Ratchet Windlass Review

Towpath Talk have commissioned an independant review of the GO Windlass which is published in the 
Products & Services section of the April 2018 edition.

The article is headed-

"The go-to windlass for making light work of locking" and is written by experienced boater and reviewer Les Heath which states:-

"THERE'S welcome news for all boaters out there who struggle with stiff lock gear while their partners remain on the boat. A new lightweight ratchet windlass, designed to take the effort out of stiff paddle operation, is now available for those back-breaking locks we all hate. Weighing considerably less than other ratchet windlasses the GOWindlass has a unique dual facility – a ratchet to allow pump action on difficult locks and a fixed socket on the same shaft to provide safe lowering of the paddles. The reversible mechanism eliminates the need to rotate the windlass through 360 degrees and allows safe operation from a normal standing position. At just under 1kg this new piece of kit is a must to have on board. They are produced by Leicestershire-based canal enthusiasts GOWindlass.co.uk and cost £79.99"

Two photos accompany the canal windlass review to highlight that "The windlass has a reversible 

mechanism" and that it is a "lightweight ratchet windlass".

10/02/2018 - "Ellen" Boatshare

"Wishing all on the GO Windlass team a successfull long awaited 2018 public launch of the the "GO Windlass" - the innovative Ratchet Windlass from all of us on board "Ellen".

1/02/2018 Customer Feedback

"Lightweight and easy to use. I can recommend the product."